Stay Informed!

Subscribe to Our Newsletter for the Latest Updates, Exclusive Content and special offers from our partners!
Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.

DOE Announces Members to New Commission on National Energy Laboratories

DOE Announces Members to New Commission on National Energy Laboratories

U.S. Energy Secretary Ernest Moniz announced the Commission to Review the Effectiveness of the National Energy Laboratories, a congressionally-mandated committee that will evaluate the effectiveness of the Energy Department’s 17 national laboratories. The Commission is being established pursuant to the 2014 Consolidated Appropriations Act.

“The Energy Department’s national laboratories are a leading force in driving U.S. scientific and technological innovation and advancing the Department’s science, energy, environmental, and national security missions,” said Secretary Moniz. “I want to thank the Commission members for their expertise and look forward to working with them to ensure we leverage the national laboratories’ unique capabilities to fulfill our missions.”

The Commission will be co-chaired by Jared Cohon, President Emeritus and Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University, and T.J. Glauthier, President, TJG Energy Associates, LLC. This independent Commission will examine if the priorities of the labs are in line with the broader strategic priorities of the Energy Department.  The Commission will conduct a two-part study and present the first phase of its study by February 1, 2015.

In addition to the co-chairs, the Commission includes:

  • Norman Augustine, Chairman of the U.S. Human Space Flight Plans Committee, NASA and Former Chairman, Lockheed Martin
  • Wanda Austin, President and CEO, The Aerospace Corporation
  • Charles Elachi, Director of Jet Propulsion Laboratory, NASA
  • Paul Fleury, Frederick W. Beinecke Professor of Engineering and Applied Physics, Yale University
  • Susan Hockfield, Professor of Neuroscience and President Emerita, MIT
  • Richard Meserve, President, Carnegie Institution for Science and Chair of the Environmental Stewardship Subcommittee of Secretary of Energy Advisory Board (SEAB)
  • Cherry Murray, Dean, Harvard School of Engineering and Applied Sciences (SEAS)

DOE Announces Members to New Commission on National Energy Laboratories Tags: DOE, press release, renewable energy, u.s.

ST Staff Writers
ST Staff Writers
Articles: 7989

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter