Getting Ready for the World Solar Challenge in Australia

world solar challenge

The world’s biggest solar challenge began in 1987 and is an adventure that occurs once every two years. This year’s Bridgestone is the event’s 13th crossing of . 46 teams from 25 countries are striving to make the Darwin start line on Sunday 18 October, in their bid to deliver the world’s most efficient electric car.

Three classes of vehicle, Challenger, Cruiser and Adventure, will take on the Aussie outback in a contest of endurance, strategy and innovation. They are united in their aim – to complete the crossing of the continent from Darwin to Adelaide, some 3000 kilometres to the south, on the power of the sun. The elite Challenger Class is conducted in a single stage from Darwin to Adelaide, with the Adventure Class enjoying a compulsory stop in Alice Springs; the unique nature of the event is that teams set up camp each night wherever they happen to be. In addition, 2015 will see the second running of the Cruiser Class, created to encourage the design of practical electric vehicles where success is judged on a range of design and performance measures.

The only certainty is that with more teams, more countries, more rivalry and more innovation, the stage is set for a total eclipse of past events and achievements.

Team List:

 Team                                                                Car  Name                           Country                        Class
University of Michigan                                   Aurum                              United States               Challenger
Nuon Solar Team                                            Nuna8                              Netherlands                  Challenger
Antakari                                                            Intikallpa IV                        Chile                           Challenger
EAFIT-EPM Solar Car Team                       Primavera                          Colombia                     Challenger
MIT Solar Electric Vehicle Team                Arcturus                             United States              Challenger
Punch Powertrain Solar Team                   Punch One                            Belgium                      Challenger
Adelaide University                                       Lumen                                   Australia                   Challenger
Tokai University                                       Tokai Challenger                       Japan                        Challenger
Cambridge University                           Eco Racing Evolution           United Kingdom          Challenger
Western Sydney University                     Unlimited                                Australia                     Challenger
Team UKZN                                                Hulamin                                South Africa                 Challenger
Team Solaris                                            DesTech Solaris                         Turkey                        Challenger
Stanford Solar Car Project                      Arctan                                     United States              Challenger
NWU Solar                                                 Sirius X25                              South Africa                Challenger
Eco Photon                                                Stingray                                   Malaysia                      Challenger
Solar Team Twente                                     Red One                              Netherlands                Challenger
Siam Tech 1                                                    STC-1                                     Thailand                   Challenger
GAMF Hungary                                         MegaLux                                 Hungary                    Challenger
Goko High School                                   Musoushin                                 Japan                        Challenger
Durham University                                   DUSC2015                       United Kingdom            Challenger
RVCE Solar Car Team                              Soleblaze                                  India                         Challenger
Clenergy TeamArrow                              Arrow1-GT                             Australia                     Challenger
Principia Solar Car Team                         Ra 9                                    United States                Challenger
Anadolu Solar Team                               Sunatolia 2                             Turkey                         Challenger
Jusolarteam                                            SOLBRITT                              Sweden                        Challenger
NIT Solar Car Racing Club                    Horizon Z                                Japan                          Challenger
K.I.T. Yumekobo Solar Car Project      K.I.T Golden Eagle 5.1         Japan                          Challenger
Blue Sky Solar Racing                                                                             Canada                         Challenger
Sun Shuttle                                               Sun Shuttle                             China                          Challenger
KUST                                                              Baek-Ho                          South Korea                  Challenger
HS Bochum SolarCar Team                      Sun Riser                          Germany                           Cruiser
ITU Solar Car Team                                      Aruna                               Turkey                              Cruiser
SunSPEC                                                    SunSPEC4                           Singapore                         Cruiser
ITS Solar Car Racing Team                   Widya Wahana                   Indonesia                          Cruiser
IVE Solar Car Team                                 SOPHIE V                         Hong Kong                         Cruiser
University of Minnesota                              Eos                                 United States                     Cruiser
University of Tehran                         Persian Gazelle (III)                 Iran                                   Cruiser
Solar Team Eindhoven                          Stella Lux                            Netherlands                       Cruiser
Ardingly Solar                                 Ardingly Solar Car                 United Kingdom                  Cruiser
KGHM Lodz Solar Team                      Eagle One                                Poland                            Cruiser
UNSW Solar Racing Team                SUNSWIFT eVe                        Australia                        Cruiser
Kogakuin University                              OWL                                          Japan                            Cruiser
PI Solar Car Team                                    YAS                                           UAE                           Adventure
Houston Solar Race Team                Sundancer                               United States                 Adventure
Liberty Solar Car Team                       Solis Bellator                          United States               Adventure
TAFE SA Solar Spirit                     TAFE SA Solar Spirit                  Australia                       Adventure

ST Staff Writers About ST Staff Writers
This post was prepared by Solar Thermal Magazine staff.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.