Major Corporations Discuss Climate Change with Bicameral Task Force

On Thursday Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse and Rep. Henry A. Waxman, co-chairs of the Bicameral Task Force on Climate Change, hosted representatives from five major corporations that are committed to acting on climate change for a roundtable discussion in the Capitol.  Each of the companies has signed onto the Business for Innovative Climate and Energy Policy (BICEP) Climate Declaration.  The representatives discussed how their companies are working to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, taking advantage of energy efficiency opportunities, and utilizing renewable energy technologies.

The BICEP Declaration urges the public, policymakers, and business leaders to seize the economic opportunities presented by addressing climate change.

The Bicameral Task Force on Climate Change, founded in January 2013, focuses on drawing congressional and public attention to climate change and developing effective policy responses to this urgent challenge.  The co-chairs are Rep. Henry A. Waxman, Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse, Sen. Ben Cardin, Sen. Ed Markey, Rep. Bobby L. Rush, and Rep. Earl Blumenauer.

EVENT:          Bicameral Task Force to Hear from Business Leaders on Climate Change


WHEN:          Thursday, April 10, 2014

8:30 a.m.

WHO:              Colin Dyer, President and Chief Executive Officer, Jones Lang LaSalle
Amy Hargroves, Director of Corporate Responsibility and Sustainability, Sprint
Rob Olson, Chief Financial Officer and Acting US President, IKEA
Kevin Rabinovich, Director of Global Sustainability, Mars, Inc.
Letitia Webster, Senior Director of Global Corporate Sustainability, VF Corporation

WHERE:        Senate Visitor Center, SVC-215

U.S. Capitol

Washington, D.C.

Press Release About Press Release

No tags for this post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.