dena Launches Application Phase for Energy Efficiency Award 2014

Commercial and Industrial Companies are Now Invited to Make Submissions for the International Energy Efficiency Award

Industrial and manufacturing companies can now submit successful energy efficiency projects to compete for the Energy Efficiency Award 2014 of the Deutsche Energie-Agentur (dena) – the German Energy Agency. dena will be presenting the award, which is worth € 30,000 in total, for the eighth time. The competition is taking place in the context of dena’s “Initiative EnergieEffizienz” (“Energy Efficiency Campaign”) with the support of its premium partners DZ BANK AG, Imtech Deutschland and Siemens AG and is under the patronage of Sigmar Gabriel, the Federal Minister of Economics

Companies of all different sizes and sectors, which have implemented successful energy efficiency projects in their enterprise, may apply. The competition aims to publicise outstanding energy efficiency strategies across different sectors and motivate companies to implement similar projects.

The deadline for applications is 30 June 2014.

Award is Jury Assessed Against Solid Competition Criteria

A panel consisting of experts in politics, business, science and the media will assess the submitted projects and announce 15 nominees for the Energy Efficiency Award 2014 in September 2014. Subsequently, the expert panel will select three winners out of the fifteen nominees.

  •  Criterion energy savings: Include savings reached with the energy efficiency measures. The amount of energy will be considered prior to and after the completion of energy efficiency measures.
  • Criterion relevance for climate protection: Describe the results achieved through energy efficiency measures to reduce the operational CO 2 emissions before and after implementation. For better comparability, in this case the energy savings achieved with uniform emission factors for fuels based on the Global Emission Model for Integrated Systems GEMIS will be evaluated.
  • Efficiency criterion: Review the unification achieved by the implemented energy efficiency measures’ cost savings in relation to the investments used for this purpose.
  • Criterion transferability to other companies: Review the market potential of the implemented energy efficiency measures for the implementation of similar projects in other companies in the same industry or across industries.
  • Criterion level of innovation: Consider the existence of significant innovations in technology, production methods, process management, organization, or a combination of these aspects. In addition, start-up impetus for further developments.

The jury explains its decision in a written representation. Click here to read an example of a Jury for Energy Efficiency Award 2013 (pdf).

Awards Ceremony

The award ceremony takes place in the presence of the professional audience and before decision-makers from trade and industry, politics and research on 11 November at the dena Energy Efficiency Congress in 2014.

The first prize is worth 15,000 euros, the second with 10,000 Euros and third prize of 5,000 Euros.

Apply now for the Energy Efficiency Award 2014

Press Release About Press Release

No tags for this post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.